Silence

So I went home this weekend and uncovered my ‘poetry’ book from during my high school days and some bits from uni. Needless to say there is some pretty dark stuff in there, but there are also some light bits, especially the stuff I wrote once I got to uni. This is one of the poems I wrote during my early high school days and it explains some of my reasoning behind being so very quiet back then:

Silence may be the only way,
You have to regain your life.
To show them that you don’t care,
To fight back.
It’s not easy,
But it works.
If you say nothing,
Then they have no-one to fight with.
In silence you can sink,
Until trouble passes.
Silence can hide the hurt,
Until you’re safe again.
They can’t fight,
If you don’t bite back.

Leave a Reply

