Walls

I can teach you how to put up walls,
Come on, let me show you how it’s done.
Everyone wants to be like this, don’t they?
Protected and safe from all those demons,
Those monsters who are people.
 
I’ve been like this for years,
Never really letting anyone in,
Sure, that’s what friends are right?
Just people you hang out with,
They don’t need to know what’s in your head.
 
I think sometimes other people have it wrong,
Why let yourself get hurt,
When you have the choice to feel nothing?
Get to know the people around you,
But you always have the upper hand.

 

It was never a choice,

It was just the way I became.

Forced to grow numb,

Now I can make fun of it,

But it doesn’t make it any less true.

I still close out the rest of the world,

Sometimes.

 

Leave a Reply

